The Miller's Oven began in 1983 as a non-profit tea room managed by a volunteer board, officially named The Rideau Miller's Oven Seniors Committee. In 1984 the building received a Heritage designation from the former Rideau Township.
Staff and Volunteers
The Miller's Oven is managed by volunteer board of directors. Its staff consists of a head cook, kitchen staff, and a corps of volunteers.
There are about 50 volunteers in all, mostly seniors and students. The Miller's Oven provides an excellent opportunity for teens to fullfill their volunteer hours requirement, and to gain useful work experience.
The Miller's Oven has always been a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a true hub of activity in our community. It is located in a heritage building on picturesque Mill Street, in the historic core of Manotick. The Howard E. Henry Building was named for the first Chair of the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority. From 1887-1929 it was the site of Robert Fee's very busy General Store, housing the telegraph office and the village's first telephone. In later years it served as the Oddfellow's Hall, Keith Lindsay's barbershop, and even a public library. In fact the barbershop furniture is now a fixture in the front dining room.
The Miller's Oven consists of the main dining room including the open kitchen, and a smaller front dining room on the ground floor. Washrooms are located on the floor, and the dining areas are readily accessible by a ramp. In the summer of 2017 a volunteer-built patio area was added to provide another venue in fair weather. Cyclists are delighted to have a rack for parking their bicycles safely away from traffic.